Bitcoin payment processors for businesses
Document text
Research, not advice. Part of the Bitcoin research archive (October 2026). Claims labelled unverified, contested or fringe are reported, not endorsed; statuses of bills and rules are as of the date checked. Government, court and patent records are public domain; the research notes are CC BY 4.0.
Bitcoin payment processors for businesses
How a business can take bitcoin as payment in October 2026, who runs each service, what it costs, who has to show ID, and what licences each one says it holds. Everything here was checked on 2026-10-09 unless a different date is given. Fees and terms change; each figure is tied to the page it came from.
This is research, not advice. Nothing here recommends a processor, a coin, or buying or selling anything.
How to read the KYC columns. "KYC" (know your customer) means identity checks. "KYB" (know your business) means checks on a company: registration papers, owners, address. "Merchant" is the business taking payment; "payer" is its customer. "Custodial" means the processor holds the money for a while; "non-custodial" means it goes straight to a wallet the merchant controls.
Why the custodial ones all do KYC. FinCEN's 2019 guidance says a crypto payment processor that collects crypto from the customer and passes money on to the merchant "fall[s] within the definition of a money transmitter" and cannot use the usual payment-processor exemption, because it does not settle only through bank-only clearing systems (FIN-2019-G001 §4.6, 2019-05-09). Money transmitters have to register with FinCEN as money services businesses (MSBs) (31 CFR 1022.380), run an anti-money-laundering programme, and get state licences. Registering with FinCEN is a federal registration, not a licence. Software the merchant runs and controls itself is treated differently: a person using an unhosted wallet to buy goods on their own behalf is not a money transmitter (same guidance, §4.2.1). That is why BTCPay Server asks nobody for ID.
The short version
- Coinbase Commerce is gone. Its self-custody product shut down for merchants outside the US and Singapore on 2026-03-31; Coinbase pointed merchants to Coinbase Business (custodial, US and Singapore) and Coinbase Payments (USDC on Base, mostly through Shopify). Neither takes bitcoin directly as far as the pages I could read show (MoonPay migration guide, 2026-03-20; Cointelegraph, 2026-03-19; Coinbase Business Checkouts API spec).
- Square now takes bitcoin over Lightning at 0% processing until the end of 2026, then 1%, for US sellers outside New York (squareup.com/us/en/bitcoin). Went live 2025-11-10 (Bitcoin Magazine).
- PayPal's "Pay with Crypto" (launched 2025) went from 0.99% to 1.5% on 2026-08-01 (PayPal merchant fees, updated 2026-10-01). Not for New York merchants (Mesh, 2026-08-07).
- Stripe does not take bitcoin. It dropped bitcoin on 2018-04-23 and today accepts only stablecoins (USDC, USDP, USDG) at 1.5%, settled to fiat (Stripe blog, 2018-01-23; Stripe docs; Stripe pricing).
- BitPay lists state licences in 31 US jurisdictions and asks payers for ID above $3,000 per purchase (BitPay compliance docs) and paid OFAC $507,375 in 2021 for processing payments from sanctioned places (OFAC, 2021-02-18).
- BTCPay Server is free, open-source (MIT), self-hosted, non-custodial, and "will never ask a merchant for any personal identification" (BTCPay docs).
- NOWPayments' terms exclude the US, EU, UK and UAE. Its current operator is FD Transfers LLC of St. Vincent and the Grenadines (NOWPayments terms, updated 2026-08-31).
- CoinPayments stopped serving EU/EEA clients after 2026-07-01 (CoinPayments FAQ). CoinGate went the other way: it holds a MiCA licence from the Bank of Lithuania (2025-12-16) (MiCA Watch).
- Cryptomus, a crypto payment processor registered in Vancouver, was fined C$176,960,190 by FINTRAC on 2025-10-16 and was sanctioned by the UK today (2026-10-09) for alleged links to Russian sanctions evasion (FINTRAC notice; CoinDesk, 2026-10-09).
Table 1 — what the merchant gets
| Processor | Model | Bitcoin rails | Published merchant fee | Settlement | Where merchants can sign up |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BitPay | Custodial processor | On-chain BTC (plus BCH, ETH, DOGE, LTC, XRP, tokens) | 2% + 25¢ under $500k/month; 1.5% + 25¢ to $999,999; 1% + 25¢ at $1M+; higher for high-risk | Daily fiat to bank (USD, EUR, GBP, CAD, AUD, MXN, NZD), crypto, or a mix | Not stated on the pricing page (gap) |
| Coinbase Commerce | Was self-custodial, multi-chain | — | — | — | Shut down 2026-03-31 outside US/Singapore |
| Coinbase Business / Coinbase Payments | Custodial business account / USDC escrow contract | None found: Checkouts API takes USDC on Base only | 1% on payment links (Cointelegraph); API spec's example uses 1.25% | USDC; fiat off-ramp | US and Singapore |
| BTCPay Server | Self-hosted software, non-custodial | On-chain and Lightning | None (network fees only; you pay for hosting) | Straight to your own wallet | Anywhere you can run it |
| OpenNode | Custodial processor | On-chain and Lightning | ~1% on payments and payouts; no conversion fee | BTC, or fiat (USD, EUR, GBP named); "split settlement" | Registered businesses only; countries not listed (gap) |
| Strike | Custodial; business accounts and API | On-chain and Lightning | Not published on pages I could read (gap); Shopify app "Free" | USD or hold BTC | "100+ jurisdictions" |
| Square (Block) | Custodial, built into Square POS | Lightning | 0% through 2026, then 1%; 1% to auto-convert card sales to BTC (0.5% on one plan tier) | BTC or USD in Square balance | US sellers, not New York |
| Cash App (Block) | Consumer wallet used to pay Square sellers | Lightning and on-chain | No Lightning fees for users | — | US; Lightning not for New York residents |
| PayPal Pay with Crypto | Custodial; Mesh connects payer's wallet/exchange, converts via PYUSD | BTC among 100+ assets | 0.99% until 2026-07-31; 1.5% from 2026-08-01 | USD on PayPal schedule, or PYUSD | US merchants, not New York |
| Venmo | Consumer crypto only | — | — | — | Users "cannot pay businesses with crypto" |
| Stripe | Custodial (Bridge/Tempo stack) | None (stablecoins only) | 1.5% | Local fiat in Stripe balance | US; private preview EU, Switzerland, Hong Kong, Mexico |
| NOWPayments | Non-custodial by default; optional third-party custody | On-chain BTC among 350+ coins | 1% single-coin; 1.5% with conversion | Crypto; fiat only from USDT-TRC20 via third party | Terms exclude US, EU, UK, UAE, Russia |
| CoinGate | Custodial, EU-licensed | On-chain BTC (Lightning not checked) | 1% standard | EUR, GBP, USD or crypto, weekly | Payments from "180+ countries" |
| CoinPayments | Custodial | On-chain BTC among 40+ coins | Not published; volume-based by quote | Crypto; fiat "where supported" | Global, but no EU/EEA after 2026-07-01; 16 restricted countries |
| Voltage Payments | Lightning API; credit-backed or your own node | Lightning, on-chain | Merchant sets its own optional fee; Voltage's price not published | — | Not stated |
| ZBD | Lightning API (gaming focus); custodial (unverified) | Lightning, on-chain | "typically < 1%" | BTC; EUR via EU e-money licence | EEA and others (not listed) |
| Speed | Lightning gateway; custodial (unverified) | Lightning, on-chain, plus USDT/USDC | Not published ("near-zero") | BTC or stablecoins | "100+ countries" |
| Coinsnap | Non-custodial Lightning service (runs on BTCPay) | Lightning, on-chain | 1% | Your own wallet, or EUR to bank via DFX or Bringin | Europe-focused; payments capped at €1,000 |
| Flexa | Payment network for retailers; custodial (unverified) | BTC, Lightning and 11 other networks | 1% all-in | USD, CAD, EUR or crypto; ACH/wire | Not listed |
| MoonPay Commerce (ex-Helio) | Processor | BTC listed among USDC, USDT, ETH, SOL | Not published | Not stated | Not stated |
| Crypto.com Pay for Business | Custodial (unverified) | BTC | "no transaction fee"; payout fee applies | 30+ fiat currencies or BTC/ETH/CRO/USDC | Not stated |
| Triple-A | Licensed in SG/FR/US/CA; custodial (unverified) | BTC (Lightning not stated) | Not published | Stablecoins or 30+ local currencies, next day | 70+ countries for payouts |
| Blink | Lightning wallet with merchant tools (El Salvador) | Lightning | Not checked | — | Not checked |
| Breez SDK | Free open-source non-custodial Lightning SDK for apps | Lightning | Free | User's own wallet | Anywhere |
| Lightspark Grid | Money-movement API settling over Lightning | Lightning | Not published | Fiat, stablecoins or BTC | Via partner banks |
Sources for every cell are in the per-processor sections below.
Table 2 — identity checks, licences, incidents
| Processor | Merchant KYC/KYB | Payer KYC | Licences / registrations it states | Incidents and enforcement |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BitPay | Yes, tiered: IDs for every 25%+ owner, business registration, tax ID; bank statements at Tier 3 ($100k/day) | Yes above $3,000 per purchase; also refund/payout recipients and VPN users | NMLS 1496848; NY virtual-currency licence; money-transmitter licences in 31 jurisdictions listed; California DFAL application pending | 2014 phishing loss ~$1.8M; 2018 malicious code in its wallet apps; OFAC $507,375 (2021) |
| Coinbase Business | Yes (unverified: Coinbase pages blocked) | Not stated | Coinbase Singapore MPI licence (Oct 2023); US licences not re-checked | 2026-03 legacy Commerce page asked users for seed phrases; tool removed |
| BTCPay Server | None | None | None needed for the software | No published GitHub security advisories found |
| OpenNode | Yes, KYB: legal existence, ownership, address; KYC on 25%+ owners or the control person | Not stated | US Patriot Act customer-ID programme stated; no licence numbers published (gap) | None found |
| Strike | Yes (account required; specifics not published) | Strike users are verified accounts (unverified) | NMLS 1902919; money-transmitter licences in 49 jurisdictions listed (no CA, HI or MT); NY BitLicense 0000050 (Feb 2026) | None found |
| Square / Cash App | Yes, KYB ("must complete Square's KYB") | Cash App payers must "verify your identity" | Block: NY money-transmitter licence since 2013, NY BitLicense since June 2018 | NYDFS $40M (2025-04-10); 48 states $80M (2025-01); CFPB $175M (2025-01-16) |
| PayPal | Yes (PayPal business account) | Payer uses an exchange account or own wallet; not stated | PayPal Digital, Inc. (NMLS 2610315) chartered as NY limited-purpose trust company; Paxos is custodian | None specific to Pay with Crypto found |
| Stripe | Yes (standard Stripe onboarding) | Wallet and AML screening included; $10,000 per-transaction cap | Not stated on pages read | None found |
| NOWPayments | Discretionary: "may" do KYC for individuals; KYB by third party for custody/fiat | Extra checks for refunds to new addresses | None stated; operator FD Transfers LLC (St. Vincent and the Grenadines) | User complaints about funds held in custody (unverified) |
| CoinGate | Yes (business verification) | Not stated (gap) | MiCA CASP, Bank of Lithuania, 2025-12-16; payment-institution licence LB002324 | None found |
| CoinPayments | Yes, all users (ID, proof of address, liveness; company and owner papers for business) | Not stated | No licence numbers on legal page; Panama and US (New Jersey) entities | 2017 XRP theft (reimbursed); "no KYC" claims are out of date |
| ZBD | "Automated identity verification where required" | Not stated | EU e-money licence (Netherlands, 2025); MiCA authorisation (Dec 2024) | None found |
| Speed | Not stated | Not stated | Relies on CoinX USA LLC's MSB registration under an "exclusive internal licensing agreement" | None found |
| Coinsnap | Not stated | None, which is why payments stop at €1,000 | None stated | None found |
| Cryptomus | — | — | Was a Canadian MSB | FINTRAC C$176.96M (2025-10-16), under appeal; UK sanctions 2026-10-09 |
| CoinsPaid | — | — | — | Lost $37.3M on 2023-07-22, blamed on Lazarus |
BitPay
- What it is. Atlanta-based processor that receives crypto from a merchant's customer, converts it, and pays the merchant (OFAC enforcement release, 2021-02-18).
- Fees (bitpay.com/pricing, read 2026-10-09): 2% + 25¢ under $500,000 a month; 1.5% + 25¢ from $500,000 to $999,999; 1% + 25¢ from $1,000,000. "Higher fees applicable for high-risk industries."
- Settlement. "Daily fiat settlements, direct to your bank account" in AUD, CAD, EUR, GBP, MXN, NZD or USD, or in crypto, or a mix (same page).
- Merchant KYB (BitPay developer docs, Compliance): Tier 2 allows $10,000 a day and $500,000 a year; Tier 3 allows $100,000 a day and $5,000,000 a year and needs three months of bank statements or a bank letter; Tier 4 is unlimited. Every tier needs IDs for "ALL owners with 25% or more" interest, government business registration and a tax-ID document. Merchants must not let Iran, Cuba, North Korea or Syria be picked at checkout.
- Payer KYC (same page): a buyer needs a verified BitPay ID for "a purchase in excess of $3,000 USD", and so do recipients of payouts or refunds and "VPN users".
- Licences (bitpay.com/legal/licenses, read 2026-10-09): NMLS ID 1496848. Lists licence numbers for 31 jurisdictions: AL, AK, AZ, AR, CT, DE, DC, FL, GA, ID, IL, IA, KS, KY, MD, MA, MI, MS, NE, NJ, NY (No. 0000008), NC, ND, OH, OK, OR, SD, TN, WA, WV, WY. Maine, New Hampshire and New Mexico are listed with "No License #". California: BitPay "has applied for licensure ... under California's Digital Financial Assets Law ... The application is pending, and BitPay, Inc. may continue operating in California while its application is under review." Alaska: "this license does not cover the transmission of virtual currency." The pricing page says BitPay is "licensed to engage in Virtual Currency Business Activity by the New York State Department of Financial Services." A FinCEN MSB registration is not shown on these pages (unverified; FinCEN's MSB search site blocks automated access).
- Incidents.
- Late 2014: lost about $1.8 million in bitcoin to a phishing attack; sued its insurer; case dismissed 2016-05-23 after a settlement in principle (CoinDesk, 2016-05-24; docket BitPay v. Massachusetts Bay Insurance, N.D. Ga. 1:15-cv-03238).
- 2018-11-26: a hijacked npm dependency put key-stealing code in versions 5.0.2–5.1.0 of BitPay's wallet apps (Copay and BitPay), not the processor; fixed in 5.2.0 (GitHub issue bitpay/wallet#9346).
- 2021-02-18, OFAC: $507,375 to settle 2,102 apparent sanctions violations, June 2013 to September 2018, about $129,000 of payments from people in Crimea, Cuba, North Korea, Iran, Sudan and Syria. BitPay screened its merchants but not their buyers, though it had their IP addresses. OFAC found the violations "not voluntarily self-disclosed and were non-egregious" (OFAC release, saved).
- 2017: BitPay's backing of the SegWit2x fork is why Nicolas Dorier started BTCPay Server (BTCPay blog). Contested history; that account is BTCPay's.
Coinbase Commerce → Coinbase Business and Coinbase Payments
- Status: shut down. "Coinbase has announced it will permanently shut down its self-custodial Coinbase Commerce platform for merchants outside the United States and Singapore," effective 2026-03-31, no extensions (MoonPay guide, 2026-03-20; also cloakd.ai and payyd.co). These are competitor pages. Coinbase's own page, "Transitioning from Coinbase Commerce to Coinbase Business" (https://help.coinbase.com/en/transitioning-from-coinbase-commerce-to-coinbase-business), sits behind a Cloudflare challenge and I could not read it. Coinbase did confirm to Cointelegraph that the "legacy Commerce product" was "scheduled for discontinuation on March 31, 2026" (Cointelegraph, 2026-03-19).
- Incident, March 2026. A Commerce page asked users to type their wallet recovery phrase (a migration tool); after security researchers objected, Coinbase removed it, saying "all funds remain secure" (same Cointelegraph article).
- Coinbase Business. Custodial business account. Singapore launch 2025-11-12, with USDC payments and "payment links" at a 1% fee; Coinbase has held a Major Payment Institution licence from Singapore's MAS since October 2023 (Cointelegraph, 2025-11-12). The Payment Links API launched 2025-10-31 (changelog). The Checkouts API takes USDC on the Base network only ("Defaults to base ... More networks will be added in the future"); fiat amounts are converted to USDC; its worked example uses a 1.25% fee rate (checkouts spec). I found no bitcoin acceptance in it.
- Coinbase Payments / Shopify. Shopify takes USDC on Base, Ethereum, Optimism, Polygon and Arbitrum, paid out in fiat or USDC. Merchants in Mexico, most US states (not Alaska, New York or Texas), 29+ European countries and Hong Kong. Bitcoin is not accepted; customers are told to swap it for USDC first (Shopify Help Center).
- KYC. Coinbase Business is a verified business account (unverified: Coinbase's pages were unreadable). Commerce's old self-custody product was widely described as needing no merchant ID (unverified).
BTCPay Server
- What it is. Free, open-source (MIT licence) payment software the merchant runs on its own server or a community host. Repository created 2017-08-18; latest release v2.4.5 on 2026-10-06 (GitHub API, read 2026-10-09).
- Fees. "There are no processing or subscription fees"; only Bitcoin network fees; hosting can be "under $10/month" (BTCPay vs. others).
- Custody. "The merchant is always in full control of their funds" (same page). Takes on-chain and Lightning.
- KYC. None, by design: "BTCPay Server will never ask a merchant for any personal identification" (same page). No payer KYC either. Fiat conversion, if wanted, goes through plugins and third parties, which do their own KYC.
- Licensing. None for the software. Under FinCEN's 2019 guidance, using an unhosted wallet to take payment for your own goods is not money transmission (FIN-2019-G001 §4.2.1). A third-party host running BTCPay for others may be in a different position (not researched).
- Incidents. The GitHub security-advisories list for the repository returned none (read 2026-10-09). Origin: built in 2017 by Nicolas Dorier in reaction to BitPay's SegWit2x stance (see BitPay above).
OpenNode
- Fees (help article, updated 2026-08-11): "Typical processing fees for payments and payouts are 1%." No setup or monthly fees. Weekly scheduled BTC withdrawals free; instant on-chain withdrawals 1%; Lightning withdrawals "always free"; "OpenNode does not charge conversion fees."
- Settlement. Bitcoin or local currency; EUR, GBP and USD are named; "Split Settlement" (opennode.com). USD bank transfers same business day if scheduled; one-time transfers before 8 a.m. ET same day (help, updated 2025-11-13).
- KYB/KYC (help, updated 2026-06-01): "OpenNode is available to registered businesses only." Needs proof of legal existence, proof of ownership, proof of address, and identity checks on owners over 25% or the account's control person. The terms say OpenNode runs a Customer Identification Program under Patriot Act §326 and may freeze accounts until identity is verified (terms, updated 2024-08-29).
- Licensing. Contracting entity OpenNode, Inc. (Delaware), California law. No licence or FinCEN registration numbers on the pages read (gap).
- Incidents. None found.
Strike
- Offer (strike.me/business): point of sale, online checkout and invoicing; "Onchain or Lightning"; "Settle to USD or hold in Bitcoin"; "Available in 100+ jurisdictions"; "Most businesses onboarded within 24 hours." The API settles Lightning instantly and on-chain in "~10 - 60 minutes" (docs.strike.me). Shopify app launched 2022-03-28, listed as "Free" (Shopify App Store).
- Fees. Not published on the business, docs or Shopify pages; the pricing page refused automated reading (gap).
- Licences (strike.me/legal/licenses, updated 2026-09-15): Zap Solutions, Inc., d/b/a Strike, NMLS 1902919. Lists money-transmitter (or equivalent) licences in 47 states plus DC and Puerto Rico; California, Hawaii and Montana are not in the list. New York: Virtual Currency Business Activity licence 0000050 and Money Transmitter licence MT105258, granted February 2026 (Cointelegraph, 2026-03-06).
- KYC. A Strike account is required to use the Shopify app; the verification steps are not published (gap).
- Incidents. None found.
Block: Square Bitcoin and Cash App
- Square Bitcoin (squareup.com/us/en/bitcoin, read 2026-10-09):
- Payments arrive over Lightning: the register shows a Lightning QR code; the customer pays from Cash App or any Lightning wallet; funds land in the Square dashboard as BTC or USD.
- Fees: bitcoin payments "are fee-free until 2027, and a flat 1% after that." Separately, sellers can auto-convert up to 50% of daily card sales into bitcoin for a 1% fee (0.5% on one plan tier). Withdrawals on-chain at $2 or $3 plus network fee for faster speeds.
- Eligibility: "available to all U.S. Square businesses (except those based in New York) that meet standard verification requirements ... businesses must complete Square's KYB (Know Your Business) verification."
- Disclosure: "Bitcoin services are not licensable activity in all U.S. states and territories." Block "operates in New York as Block of Delaware and is licensed to engage in virtual currency business activity" by NYDFS.
- Timeline: announced 2025-05-27 (Square press); live 2025-11-10 for about 4 million US sellers (Bitcoin Magazine).
- Cash App (cash.app/bitcoin/fees): "Cash App charges no Lightning Network fees"; buy fees 2.0% to 0% by size, plus a spread of 0–0.75%. "Lightning Network is not available to New York residents." Payers must download Cash App and "verify your identity" (Square page above).
- Licences. Block has held a New York money-transmitter licence since 2013 and a BitLicense since June 2018 (NYDFS consent order).
- Enforcement.
- 2025-01-16, CFPB: consent order (2025-CFPB-0001) for Cash App fraud-handling failures: up to $120M redress and a $55M penalty; status "Post Order/Post Judgment" (CFPB release, saved; action page).
- 2025-01-21, 48 states: $80M penalty for Bank Secrecy Act / AML failures at Cash App (Kansas OSBC, saved).
- 2025-04-10, NYDFS: $40M penalty and an independent monitor for AML and transaction-monitoring failures covering both fiat and bitcoin, including suspicious-activity reports filed more than a year late (consent order, saved).
PayPal (Pay with Crypto) and Venmo
- Pay with Crypto. Announced 2025-07-28 for US merchants: 100+ cryptocurrencies including BTC, from wallets such as Coinbase, Kraken, Binance, MetaMask, Phantom and Exodus; converted to stablecoin or fiat (PayPal press release). Mesh connects the payer's wallet or exchange; PayPal converts through PYUSD and pays the merchant in USD, or the merchant can keep PYUSD; "Merchants in New York cannot currently use the product, and gaming merchants require additional due diligence" (Mesh, 2026-08-07).
- Fee (PayPal merchant fees, last updated 2026-10-01): "Rate until July 31, 2026: 0.99%"; "Rate on or after Aug. 1, 2026: 1.5%."
- Licensing. "PayPal Digital, Inc. (NMLS ID: 2610315) is chartered as a limited purpose trust company by the New York State Department of Financial Services"; custody and trading are by Paxos Trust Company, N.A. (PayPal crypto page). In July 2025 PayPal said it had not yet received NYDFS approval for the product for New York residents (press release above).
- Consumer side. PayPal users can "Checkout with Crypto" by spending a crypto balance at merchants that take PayPal; the merchant still gets dollars (PayPal crypto page). On Venmo, users can hold crypto but "cannot pay businesses with crypto"; identity checks may be needed for transfers; Paxos is the provider (venmo.com/about/crypto).
Stripe (stablecoins only)
- No bitcoin. Stripe ended bitcoin support on 2018-04-23, citing slow confirmations, volatility, fees "of tens of U.S. dollars", and falling demand (Stripe blog, 2018-01-23).
- Stablecoin payments (Stripe docs): USDC on Tempo, Ethereum, Solana, Polygon and Base; USDP (US only); USDG (US only). Settles "in your Stripe balance in your local currency." US businesses generally; private preview for the EU, Hong Kong, Mexico and Switzerland. Customers are sent to crypto.stripe.com to connect a wallet. "Customer transaction limits are 10,000 USD per transaction." No chargebacks.
- Fee: "1.5% of the transaction amount in USD", including fiat conversion, "wallet and AML screening" and gas (stripe.com/pricing).
- Background. Stripe closed its $1.1B purchase of stablecoin company Bridge on 2025-02-04 (Stripe newsroom).
NOWPayments
- Fees (NOWPayments help): "1% for payments without exchange"; "1.5% for multi-currency payments, Fixed rate payments and 'fee paid by user' payments", plus network fees.
- Operator and where it works (terms, last updated 2026-08-31): FD Transfers LLC, registered in St. Vincent and the Grenadines. §15.1: "The Services are not rendered to residents or citizens of the European Union, the United Kingdom, the United States of America, the United Arab Emirates, or to persons located in or resident of the Russian Federation." The homepage names ChangeNOW as the parent (unverified) and claims 350+ coins (nowpayments.io).
- Custody. Non-custodial by default; an optional "Custody feature" is run by unnamed third parties, and FD Transfers "DOES NOT remain responsible" for them (terms §8). Fiat withdrawal only from USDT on TRON, through a third party (§10.5).
- KYC. Corporate partners give registration details; "For Individual Partners, the Company may conduct a KYC procedure ... and may introduce mandatory KYC requirements in the future" (§13.5). Third-party custody and fiat providers may demand KYB (§10.8). Refunds to an address other than the payer's may need "small amount verification transfers or video verification" (§7.1.2).
- Licensing. None stated in the terms or homepage.
- Incidents. User posts complain of funds held in custody (e.g. r/NOWPayments_official); unverified anecdotes.
CoinGate
- Fees (coingate.com/pricing): "1% per transaction" on the Standard plan; enterprise rates by agreement. Settlement weekly in EUR, GBP, USD or crypto; SEPA withdrawals free (50 EUR minimum); SWIFT 0.5%.
- Licences. "UAB Decentralized ... is authorised as a Crypto-Asset Service Provider under the EU Markets in Crypto-Assets Regulation (MiCA)" and licensed as a payment institution, code LB002324 (pricing page). MiCA authorisation 2025-12-16 by the Bank of Lithuania, LEI 6488907MV9XAA08E4E40, for custody, crypto-for-funds and crypto-for-crypto exchange, and transfers (MiCA Watch; Coinpaper). Founded 2014 in Vilnius (about).
- KYC. Merchants verify a business account; the document list page refused automated reading (gap). MiCA requires CASPs to run AML/KYC. Under the EU transfer-of-funds rules, a CASP must check that a customer owns a self-hosted wallet for transfers over €1,000 (Regulation (EU) 2023/1113, applying since 2024-12-30; summary by Notabene). How CoinGate applies this to shoppers was not found (gap).
- Incidents. None found.
CoinPayments
- Status. "COINPAYMENTS is unable to continue serving clients based in the EU/EEA after 1 July 2026" (FAQ).
- Fees. Not published: "Our payment processing fees are discounted based on your monthly volume. Contact our sales team" (supported coins page). Third-party sites still quote 0.5% (e.g. CoinBureau, 2023-03-29); treat as outdated.
- KYC. "We require all users to sign up as new users and complete the verification process (KYC)" (FAQ). Personal accounts need government ID, proof of address under three months old, a liveness check and a questionnaire, and cannot use the merchant tools; business accounts add company data and ownership papers (integration guide). Verification vendors: SumSub and RiskScreen/KYC360 (blog, 2024-04-26).
- Entities and restrictions (legal page): PaidInSatoshi Inc. (Panama City) and Centauri Pay LLC (Jersey City, NJ). Restricted: Afghanistan, Belarus, Cuba, Iran, Libya, Myanmar, North Korea, Russia, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Haiti, Venezuela, Yemen. No licence numbers shown (gap).
- History and incidents. Founded 2013 in Vancouver; June 2017 theft of XRP from hot wallets, which it says it repaid (CoinBureau, 2023).
Lightning-native processors and tools
- Voltage Payments. An API on top of Lightning, either "Credit-backed" (a Voltage line of credit, no node to run) or "Node-backed" (the customer's own node) (docs). The "processing fee" in the docs is an optional fee the merchant charges its own users, off by default, switched on only once Voltage sets a rate on the merchant's credit line (processing fees). Voltage's own pricing, KYB and licences were not published on pages read (gap). A credit line implies underwriting (unverified).
- ZBD (Zebedee). Lightning and on-chain payments API aimed at games; fees "typically < 1%"; "Automated identity verification where required", sanctions screening, "Money transmission licenses in key markets" (not named) (ZBD docs). EU electronic-money licence in the Netherlands and a MiCA authorisation from December 2024 (Mobidictum, 2025-07-15; Blockchain Gamer). ZBD was not found on the MiCA Watch register page I read (unverified either way).
- Speed. Lightning and on-chain BTC plus USDT and USDC; "100+ countries"; offices in Las Vegas, Dubai and Ahmedabad. "Speed Merchant (tryspeed.com) is operated by Speed1 INC and utilizes crypto services covered by the Money Services Business (MSB) license held by CoinX USA LLC (MSB License: 31000292053099), under an exclusive internal licensing agreement" (tryspeed.com; security page). Contested wording: FinCEN MSB status is a registration, not a licence, and whether one company's registration can cover another's business is a legal question I did not resolve. Not checked against FinCEN's registry (unverified).
- Coinsnap. Non-custodial: "All payments are deposited directly into your own wallet or your own bank account" (coinsnap.io). "Coinsnap charges a fee of 1%." Euro payouts through Swiss broker DFX, or Bringin. Payer limit: "KYC/AML verification is mandatory for un-hosted wallets for amounts over €1,000. Our system only allows payments up to a maximum of €1,000" (FAQ). Brand of Onlineshop24 doo (country not stated; unverified). Also offers a module for merchants' own BTCPay Servers (Coinsnap blog).
- Breez SDK. "Free and open-source", "non-custodial" Lightning and stablecoin SDK; claims apps can "onboard users anywhere without the licensing burden" (breez.technology/sdk). That is Breez's claim, not a legal finding.
- Blink (formerly Bitcoin Beach Wallet, El Zonte, El Salvador, 2020; built on Galoy). Lightning wallet with merchant tools: Blink Terminal, BTCPay plugin, WooCommerce plugin (blink.sv/about). KYC tiers and licensing not on the page (gap).
- IBEX Pay suspended all US services from 2024-05-31, moving balances to Swan or customers' own addresses; no reason given (PYMNTS, 2024-05-15). Its onboarding page did not load (gap).
- Lightspark Grid (announced 2025-10-16): moves money "fiat to fiat, fiat to stablecoins, fiat to Bitcoin ... and Bitcoin to Bitcoin", settling over Lightning. Lightspark says it is "not a bank, exchange, or asset custodian"; products run "in partnership with licensed institutions", with Lead Bank and Cross River Bank (Lightspark).
- OpenNode, Strike, Square and Cash App also run on Lightning; see above.
Others found
- Flexa. "Accepting digital assets with Flexa costs just 1%"; 13 networks including Bitcoin and Lightning; payouts in USD, CAD, EUR or crypto by ACH or wire; claims "licensed and fully audited infrastructure handles KYC and verification on your behalf" without naming licences (flexa.co/payments). US retailer Bealls announced Flexa acceptance at about 660 stores (crypto.news; date not checked).
- MoonPay Commerce (Helio, bought by MoonPay in January 2025; renamed 2025-10-15). Lists BTC among supported assets; runs Shopify's Solana Pay plugin (MoonPay, 2025-01-13; MoonPay, 2025-10-15). MoonPay USA LLC is a registered MSB, NMLS 2071245. Its licences page lists licences in 48 US jurisdictions (money-transmitter licences in most, New York BitLicense 0000045, Puerto Rico, and a Guam foreign-exchange licence) plus registrations with the UK FCA (944746), Dutch AFM (41000002), FINTRAC, AUSTRAC and Jersey (moonpay.com/legal/licenses). Contested: MoonPay's own guide says "money transmitter licenses in all 50 U.S. states" (guide); the list I read has fewer.
- Crypto.com Pay for Business. "No transaction fee"; a payout fee applies; settles to 30+ fiat currencies or BTC (0.01 minimum), ETH, CRO or USDC (docs). Countries and KYB not stated (gap).
- Triple-A. Singapore Major Payment Institution licence PS20200525; in the EU, Paytop SAS is a French payment institution and CASP (A2026-015); US FinCEN MSB and money transmitter, NMLS 2514255; registered in Canada (triple-a.io). Fees not published.
- Binance Pay. Merchant page did not render for automated reading (merchant.binance.com); fees, countries and KYB not checked (gap).
- BVNK (stablecoins, not bitcoin-specific). Mastercard announced in March 2026 a deal to buy it (reported at $1.8B) and completed it in August 2026, per Mastercard press-release titles (March, August). The pages refused automated reading, so the details are unverified.
- CoinsPaid (Estonia). Lost $37.3M on 2023-07-22; it blames North Korea's Lazarus Group, which reached its systems after an employee installed malware from a fake job test (CoinsPaid).
- Cryptomus (Xeltox Enterprises Ltd., formerly Certa Payments, British Columbia).
- 2025-10-16, FINTRAC: C$176,960,190 penalty for 2,593 breaches of Canada's anti-money-laundering law across 6 types of violation; under appeal to the Federal Court (FINTRAC notice, saved). Reporting says it failed to file suspicious-transaction reports tied to child sexual abuse material, fraud, ransomware and sanctions evasion (KrebsOnSecurity, 2025-10-22).
- 2026-10-09, UK: asset freeze on Cryptomus, Heleket and Certa Payments for alleged links to the A7 network, which the UK says helps Russia dodge sanctions (CoinDesk; UK sanctions list entry RUS3755, which did not render for reading).
Rules that shape these services
- New York. Square Bitcoin, Cash App's Lightning, PayPal Pay with Crypto and Shopify's USDC payments all exclude New York (sources above). New York requires a BitLicense or a limited-purpose trust charter under 23 NYCRR Part 200 for virtual-currency business (see legislation/us-state-ny.md).
- California. The Digital Financial Assets Law now applies; BitPay says its application is pending and it may keep operating meanwhile (BitPay licences page). Strike's money-transmitter list does not include California.
- EU. MiCA authorisation is now what lets a processor serve the EEA: CoinGate holds it, and CoinPayments stopped serving EU/EEA clients after 2026-07-01. The transfer-of-funds regulation's €1,000 self-hosted wallet check is why Coinsnap stops at €1,000.
- Unhosted wallets, US. FinCEN withdrew its 2020 unhosted-wallet proposal on 2026-10-05, so its plan to make MSBs collect the identity of self-custody counterparties will not take effect; existing anti-money-laundering rules still apply (see legislation/us-federal-fincen-wallet-registration.md).
- Sanctions. Processors must screen payers as well as merchants; BitPay's 2021 OFAC settlement turned on IP addresses it already had but did not use.
Contested or unverified claims
| Claim | Who says it | What I found |
|---|---|---|
| BitPay charges 1% | payyd.co | BitPay's page: 2% + 25¢ under $500k a month; 1% + 25¢ only at $1M+. |
| NOWPayments charges 0.5% | payyd.co | NOWPayments' help: 1% or 1.5%. |
| CoinPayments needs no KYC | CoinBureau, 2023 | Current FAQ: all users must complete KYC. |
| Speed holds an "MSB license" | Speed | It cites CoinX USA LLC's MSB registration through an internal agreement; FinCEN MSB status is a registration, not a licence; not checked in FinCEN's registry. |
| MoonPay licensed in "all 50 U.S. states" | MoonPay newsroom | MoonPay's licences page lists 48 US jurisdictions. |
| Coinbase Commerce closed only outside the US and Singapore | MoonPay, cloakd.ai, payyd.co | Coinbase confirmed the 2026-03-31 end to Cointelegraph; its own help page was unreadable. |
| Flexa, ZBD "licensed" | Flexa, ZBD | No licences named on the pages read. |
| BTCPay began because BitPay pushed SegWit2x | BTCPay | That is BTCPay's account; BitPay's side was not researched. |
Saved source copies
Government documents are saved in full in sources/payment-processors/:
OFAC's BitPay enforcement release, NYDFS's Block consent order, the CFPB and Kansas OSBC releases on Block, and
FINTRAC's penalty notices including Cryptomus. Everything else here is summarized with a link, not copied.
Gaps
- Strike's fees; Voltage's own pricing and KYB; OpenNode's licences and countries; Binance Pay; CoinGate's document list and shopper rules; Blink's KYC tiers; IBEX Pay's current status.
- Coinbase help pages, BVNK and Mastercard pages blocked automated reading; facts about them rest on news reports.
- FinCEN MSB registrations were not checked for any company: msb.fincen.gov disallows all crawlers in robots.txt.